Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated
 Lambda Mu Chapter

Click here to edit subtitle


Zeta Phi Beta Sorority Inc. was founded on January 16, 1920 at Howard University in Washington D.C.  Zeta Phi Beta Sorority Inc. was founded on the simple belief that sorority elitism and socializing should not overshadow the real mission for progressive organizations. With encouragment from Langston and Charles Taylor (two of the founders of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity Inc.), five exquisite ladies paved the way for all Zeta women today.They are known as our five pearls, Arizona Cleaver, Myrtle Tyler, Viola Tyler, Fannie Pettie and Pearl Neal. These five women sought to establish a new organization based on the  principles of Scholarship, Service, Sisterly Love and Finer Womanhood. Founder Viola Tyler quoted to say "[In the ideal collegiate situation] there is a Zeta in a girl regardless of race, creed, or color, who has high standards and principles, a good scholarly average and an active interest in all things that she undertakes to accomplish." 

We remain the only official and constitutionally-bound Greek-letter sister and brother organizations in the NPHC. For 96 years, Zeta continues to help women prosper and become the finer woman they set out to be through national and chapter programs for which its members and auxiliary provide voluntary service to their community, school programs, fund scholarships, support organized charities, and promote legislation for social and civic change.